Voter registration and residency

Sources Escambia County Supervisor of Elections and Florida Statutes Chapter 101

Question: I’ve moved since the last time I voted, and I forgot to change my address. Do I go to my old precinct to vote?

Call the Supervisor of Elections office or check the website to find the location of your new precinct’s polling place before you go to vote.

You may change your address, if you are still in the same county, at the new precinct. If you are changing from another county, you cannot change your address on Election Day.  You must go to your new precinct and vote a provisional ballot. It is a felony to vote in a precinct in which you do not live.

Also,

Question: How do I change my address?
Address changes within Florida can be made by just about any contact with the Elections Office — by e-mail, fax, telephone, or on a signed, written notice or Florida Voter Registration Application.

Address changes between counties must be completed prior to Election Day, or the voter will be forced to cast a provisional ballot.

If the information provided on the Florida Voter Registration Application is not true, the applicant can be convicted of a felony of the third degree and fined up to $5,000 and/or imprisoned for up to 5 years. The Florida Voter Registration Application specifically asks for your “current residence address.” It also has a field labeled “Address Where You Live (legal residence-no P.O. Box).”

Florida Statute 101.045 states that “A person is not permitted to vote in any election precinct or district other than the one in which the person has his or her legal residence and in which the person is registered… An elector who moves from the precinct in which the elector is registered may vote in the precinct to which he or she has moved his or her legal residence, if the change of residence is within the same county or the precinct to which the elector has moved his or her legal residence is within a county that uses an electronic database as a precinct register at the polling place, and the elector completes an affirmation in substantially the following form…Under penalties for false swearing, I, (Name of voter) , swear (or affirm) that the former address of my legal residence was (Address of legal residence) in the municipality of , in County, Florida, and I was registered to vote in the precinct of County, Florida; that I have not voted in the precinct of my former registration in this election; that I now reside at (Address of legal residence) in the Municipality of , in County, Florida, and am therefore eligible to vote in the precinct of County, Florida; and I further swear (or affirm) that I am otherwise legally registered and entitled to vote.”

Florida Statute 101.048 states that the person casting a provisional ballot affirms the following:

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that my name is ; that my date of birth is ; that I am registered and qualified to vote in County, Florida; that I am registered in the Party; that I am a qualified voter of the county; and that I have not voted in this election. I understand that if I commit any fraud in connection with voting, vote a fraudulent ballot, or vote more than once in an election, I can be convicted”

